Figure Skating

Yesterday was the funnest day at work I’ve had in awhile. We went figure skating at lunch time and I haven’t been figure skating in about 3 years. One of the guys that was with us ended up tripping and falling face first and getting nine stitches in his head. We couldn’t believe he had fallen that hard, and he was so hungover I felt kinda bad, but a hangover is self induced. Right?

Dan made it home last night at about 1:30 in the morning. Which was alot earlier than he thought he was going to be home. I can’t wait to see what he all bought me from Texas. I also can’t wait for the weekend. I’m going to finally sleep in. I threw a pork roast in my slow cooker so everyone will just eat later when they get home I think. I wanted to get groceries after work so I don’t have to worry about driving in on a saturday by myself for groceries. And we are almost out of milk.. again.. that hockey billet sure likes his milk.

Anyway, I made these as a treat, and they keep very very well.. because they are so dried out. You dip them in tea, coffee, or hot chocolate.. YUM!

 

Chocolate Banana Biscotti
yield: 20 – 24 biscotti

3/4 cup Ripened Bananas, mashed
1 Egg
2 TBS Brown Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
1 3/4 cup plus 2 TBS Flour
1/2 cup plus 2 TBS Sugar
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 cup Chocolate Chips
Chocolate Chips, any kind

preheat oven to 350 degrees

Place banana, egg, brown sugar and vanilla in a bowl. Mix to combine.

In a separate bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

Add the wet to the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Divide into two equal portions and place on a silpat lined baking sheet (or parchment paper) 4 inches apart.

Form each piece of dough into a 6 inch log, about 3 inches wide. Bake for 25 minutes.

When done remove from oven and reduce heat to 250 degrees. Let biscotti cool for 10 minutes.

Using a serrated knife, cut biscotti into diagonal strips

Place back on the cookie sheet and bake for an additional 20-25 minutes or until crisp. (I turned mine half way for even coloring.) Let cool at least 20 minutes.

Optional: Decorate the top of the biscotti with chocolate. Melt chocolate chips in microwave in 30 second intervals until melted and smooth. (I am messy and like to dip a fork in the chocolate and splatter it on the biscotti, though you can let the chocolate cool a bit and add it to a piping bag.)

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Figure Skating

  1. Information on this blog is fantastic but I m having an issue seeing some of with my browser can any techies help me out?

Leave a comment