Rice Krispie Treats

Sometimes, every now and then I have a craving for something my Mom would make us. Something that brings comfort and memories in. This is one of those things. I couldn’t believe how easy they were to make! I always putted off making these because I thought they would be too hard or complicated, I don’t think I ever even really read the recipe before today.

I did some reasearch and, thanks to Mildred Day, in 1928, who made rice krispies treats for a girls camp fundraiser, we now have these yummy treats. She was working for Kellogs at the time and decided to use the cereal to make them. They are a sister to puffed wheat treats and to the popcorn ball. Both also favorites of my family… maybe popcorn balls will be my next treat.. yum!

 

Rice Krispie Treats

1/2 cup butter
40 regular marshmellows (a full big bag)
6 cups Rice Krispies

In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat. Add cereal. Stir until well coated.

Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray. Cool. Cut into 2-inch squares. Best if served the same day.

Leave a comment