what an eventful day

I honestly have never been so bored on a sunday in my life. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I mean I’m so used to running around and doing everything like I did all week it just felt weird to sit down and relax. 

I was going through one of my cookbooks when I came across the recipe (In the Dieters Cook Book, which isn’t suprising).

 

Spicey Broccoli Spread

2 cups broccoli florets
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp parmesan cheese
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

In a medium  covered saucepan cook broccoli in a small amount of boiled salted water about 10 minutes or until broccoli is tender. Drain well, reserving cooking liquid.

In a small skillet cook onion in hot oil about 8-10 minutes or until onion is soft and browned. In a food processor or blender container combine broccoli, onion mixture, parmesan cheese, and crushed red pepper flakes. Cover and process or blend until nearly smooth. If mixture seems dry and thick, add reserved cooking liquid, 1 tbsp at a time, until desired spreading consistency. Cover and chill for 3-24 hours.

Serve with vegetable dippers or crackers.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “what an eventful day

  1. Miriam says:

    Thanks, that is a very good article. I found it via Yahoo and immediately incorporated into my feedreader. I am pleased to soon be back here to read again! greetings

Leave a Reply

