February 3, 2010

Sometimes in the morning I have a hard time thinking of a witty name for my post, so I’ve decided to just start putting the dates up ontop.. isn’t that so much easier?

So for supper, I’m making something that will always be one of my favorite things to eat. I am Irish/German and French.. and I’m not sure which nationality sauerkraut comes from, I’m thinking more German than anything.. but my family has made this for years.

We have a couple variations of it, we sometimes use pork hawks, or sausage. I’m using sausage.. and its usually served with either perogies or baked potatoes. My Grandma makes the best sauerkraut I think I have ever had, but lately mom told me she has been buying the big jars from Costco and freezing left overs and it tastes almost as good as Grandma’s.

So here is my recipe for today. Not sure how healthy it is or anything.. but its a treat.

Sausage and Sauerkraut

2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
1 lbs sausage (I used pork/beef sausage from my farm)
3/4 cup 1/2-inch diced red potatoes
2 cups sauerkraut
1 small onion, sliced
1/2 teaspoon chopped garlic
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth

Heat 1 teaspoon oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add sausage and cook, turning often, until lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Transfer the sausage to a cutting board and slice into 1/2-inch pieces. (The sausage will not be thoroughly cooked, but it will continue cooking later.)

Add the remaining 1 teaspoon oil to the pan and heat over medium heat. Add potatoes and cook, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes. Add sauekraut, onion, garlic  and pepper. Cook, stirring often, until the cabbage has wilted slightly, about 3 minutes more.

Add broth; bring to a simmer. Place the sausage on top of the cabbage mixture; cover, reduce heat to medium-low and cook until the sausage is cooked through and the vegetables are tender, 7 to 10 minutes.

Of course I do everything seperately incase someone doesn’t like something, and ended up making perogies instead of potatoes, because I wasn’t sure if the hockey billet would eat them.. So yah, thats my night in a nutshell.. Not much time left to do anything after that.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

