Egg nog in January?

So I know Christmas is over, but eggnog is one of my favorite things to have in the morning with my coffee in winter. Those eggnog latte’s from Starbucks used to be one of my favorite things to have but since I no longer live in the city and there isn’t a starbucks for miles I have to improvise!

Skinny Eggnog

3 cups 1% milk
1 vanilla bean
2 large eggs
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp cornstarch
Freshly grated nutmeg, for garnish

Heat 2-1/2 cups milk in a medium saucepan. Split the vanilla bean lengthwise and scrape out the seeds; add the seeds and pod to the saucepan and simmer over medium heat.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, sugar and cornstarch until it turns light yellow.

Temper the eggs by gradually pouring the hot milk mixture, about 1 cup at a time, into the egg mixture, whisking constantly (this is important, otherwise you’ll make scrambled eggs). Pour the mixture back into the pan. Place over medium heat and stir constantly with a wooden spoon until the eggnog begins to thicken, about 6-7 minutes. Remove from the heat and immediately stir in the remaining 1/2 cup milk to stop the cooking. Remove the vanilla pod, let it cool and transfer to a pitcher, chill until ready to serve.

Its pretty simple to make so I can always have it on hand. Not sure how long it lasts for is the only thing.. I don’t imagine too much longer than a week or so. But its just comforting to have and since its been so cold the past couple days after our big storm is the perfect thing to warm up a person on a cold morning.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment