lazy sunday

Well another snow day yesterday… and another snow day today. I ended up not going to work. Its pretty breezy out and we have a lot of snow shovelling to do today. Last night was a pretty unsuccesful night of cooking.. I wanted to make scalloped potatoes and ham.. which is one of my favorite meals.. but I wanted Dan to eat it.. Boy was that a mistake.. I wasn’t thinking when I added onions to it.. I didn’t use mushroom soup like I usually do.. instead did the whole flour and milk thing.. and the ham was dry and the brussels sprouts.. yuck.. oh well. I actually didn’t mind the scalloped potatoes so thats the recipe I have today.. just because they are kinda different and I’m sure I could make the recipe better.. maybe a little bacon.. something to add more flavour.

Scalloped Potatoes

1/2 cup chopped onions
2 cloves garlic
4 tbsp butter
3 tbsp butter
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 1/2 cups milk
1/2 tsp thyme
5 medium potatoes
1/2 cup shredded cheese

For sauce, in a medium saucepan cook onion and garlic in hot butter over medium heat until tender. Stir in flour, salt, and pepper. Add milk all at once. Cook until thick and bubbly. Stir in thyme.

Scrub and thinly slice potatoes. Arrange two-thirds of the potato slices in a 2-quart casserole. Cover with two thirds of the sauce.  Top with remaining potatoes and remaining sauce. Cover with cheese.

Bake, covered in a 350F oven for 55 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Let potatoes stand for 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

