beef stroganoff

Yesterday was the longest work day ever. I wasn’t feeling good, I felt like I was half asleep the whole day. I took some cold medicine and it made me feel so loopy and dizzy. I took some again last night before I went to bed and I feel the same this morning.

Dan was gone again last night so I had to make something quick and I wanted to use up some of the groceries his parents gave us. This was the easiest way to get rid of one of the three tubs of sour cream and 1/2 block cream cheese..

 

Beef Stroganoff

1 package egg noodles
1lb hamburger
1 package fry brown gravy mix
1/2 block cream cheese
1 can chopped mushrooms (I used fresh ones and about 1 1/2 cups chopped)
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup milk
1 container sour cream
1 can low sodium cream of mushroom soup
paprika to taste

Cook the egg noodles according to the package.

In  a skillet over medium heat, brown the ground beef until no pink shows and add mushrooms and onion.

Add in the brown gravy, cream cheese, milk, sour cream and soup to the hamburger mixture. Add paprika to taste.

It was super easy and quick to make and used up lots of the stuff I had on hand. My hockey billet had it with a bun and I dipped my garlic bread into it. I found it almost too rich though, maybe next time I’ll cut out the cream cheese. And he goes, “So what, is this just like hamburger and mushroom soup?” He is so clueless about cooking I think.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “beef stroganoff

  1. Great information,I have Digged this site for future and will keep a eye on your other postings. Thank you

Leave a Reply

