So glad Christmas is over.

I have never found Christmas to be so stressful in my entire life. It was so rushed and busy I didn’t have more than 5 hours to relax all weekend. We were constantly going places or people were coming over. I managed to get a wii fit for Christmas and I barely even got to play it yet. I got a couple kitchen gadgets too. I got a coffee grinder that makes wonderful starbucks coffee in the morning for me, a waffle maker, some new pots and pans and a slap chop which chops up onions just like it does in the commercial!

Saturday night we went out to the bar and we all got loser drunk… I was suprised yesterday morning when I woke up not feeling hung over one bit. I made soup, cleaned, did laundry and had breakfast made before Dan even woke up! YAY ME!

Turkey Barley Soup

2 quarts turkey broth
1 1/2 cups diced celery
1 cup medium pearl barley
1 medium onion diced
3/4 cup carrots diced
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp thyme
1 bay leaf
1/8 tsp pepper
2 cups cooked turkey

To make the stock I boiled half the turkey carcass mom gave me for 3 hours. I then strained it and pulled off the meat and added a little bit more meat from my left over bag. There was a bit of gravy also and some stuffing to add flavour. I then added everything else and simmered that for maybe 30 mins until the vegetables were done.

So thats my lunch for the week since I only have to work until thursday. I really wish I could have had more time off for Christmas.. I just felt so rushed and like I didn’t even get a break and its going to be the same this weekend too for New Years except I’m debating what I should do because I would like to go shopping saturday for the day but I don’t know because Dan’s going to the World Juniors games and they won’t be over until late. I might just head to the city on my own for the day or something. I would like to buy a couple new things.. including a new laptop for me.

Tagged , ,

7 thoughts on “So glad Christmas is over.

  1. We liked this article. As avid lover of espresso and for someone who consumes 8-10 cups, this post sticks. We like the style of writing too! Good job!!

  2. This brings me to an idea:…

  3. Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

  4. You are soooo gifted in writing. God is really utilizing you in miraculous methods. You are doing a great job! This was an awesome weblog!

  5. feet shoes says:

    I Like this site your article is very nice , Thanks, very interesting article, keep up it coming 🙂

  6. Hi, I cant understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please It sounds like you’re creating problems yourself by trying to solve this issue instead of looking at why their is a problem in the first place

  7. I love coffee and I believe I’m a coffee addict. Recently have purchased a Burr Coffee Grinder. Burr Coffee Grinders definetely change your taste if you like gourmet coffees. I suggest to anyone who loves coffee like me. Greetings from LA

Leave a Reply

