house cleaning!

So, I’ve done my whole kitchen, top to bottom, wrestled with the vine outside our bedroom doors, and weeded the garden. If only I had a push lawn mower I would have cut the grass also. I’m not aloud to use the driving lawn mower, Dan says its too hard for me to drive. Doesn’t bother me none.. haha

Yesterday I thought I would use our stove for the last time, thinking the new one would be put in last night. Boy was I wrong. I think a small rhubarb crisp will be the last thing made in my oven today.. I managed to pull out the stove just enough to clean up the tiles behind it. When the boys pull it out tonight I am going to sweep and bleach the floor under the stove. Anyway, since I thought yesterday was going to be the last day to use it I made beef stew with some left over red wine we didn’t finish. Wine is something both Dan and I drink, often actually with supper. I think our favorite is yellowtail red wine. We are huuuuge fans of Arbour Mist flavoured wines, but the yellow tail is soo good. The wine I had yesterday was the Naked Grape Red Wine. I will never get it again…

The recipe goes like this:

beefstew

Beef Stew
1/2 lb stew meat
2 tbsp flour
1/2 white onion
2 cloves of garlic
1 cup red wine
1 1/2 cups beef stock
1 bay leaf
2 tsp thyme
3 potatoes, cubed
2 carrots, chopped
salt, pepper, and sugar to taste

Over medium heat, heat about 3 tbsp olive oil. While the pan is heating, toss beef in flour to coat.
Brown beef in hot pan. Remove to plate.
Add a bit more oil and add garlic and onion. Saute for a frew seconds and then add wine to pan scraping the bottom of the pan.
Once the wine had gotten hot, add beef stock, meat, thyme and bay leaf. Bring the mixture to a simmer. Cook for 2 hours. Add in potatoes and carrots and cook for 30 mins or until veggies are cooked.
Add seasonings to taste.

Silly me just noticed there was sugar in the recipe. I didn’t add that, which was why the wine was a bit overpowering maybe. It was really really good though. I would definitely make this again, if I had left over wine of course haha.

Anyway, should get back to cleaning. I feel so bad, I have to tie up Kato when I go outside. He’s getting to adventerous.. running into the back alley and into the neighbours yards. I think tieing him up is way better idea than getting the radio fence put in. I think he is too small for the shock. I mean he won’t have the freedom with the rope, but I don’t know..

One thought on “house cleaning!

  1. BloggerDude says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

