Early morning tuesday

Did I ever wake up early this morning! The dog started whining at 5:00am.. I didn’t get out of bed until 7:00am. Its too cold and rainy again. It was nice to wake up to a pot of coffee thats already made… sooo nice! I love my  new coffee maker.

Yesterday was so relaxing. Dan and I did some yard work, cutting back a perennial plant that was a bit top heavy from all the rain, then we tied it with fishing line to keep it standing straight up. We took out some steak for supper and put it in a marinade that I got from mom. Dan took over the marinade for me so I could take the dog outside… he forgot one of the main ingredients because he kept going out of order on the recipe.. still tasted amazing! I also made one of those fancy potato packets for the bbq too. Our recipe for the marinade went like this:

steak

Steak Marinade

1/2 cup water
1/2 cup soya sauce
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp canola oil
1 tbsp montreal steak spice
1/2 tsp garlic
1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce
1/4 tsp peppers
4 t-bone steaks

mix together marinade and let sit over night. (haha ya right.. we did all day instead or about 6 hours). Grill until done to your liking on medium heat. About 10 mins for us.. I don’t like mine to bleed.

All in all the day was very productive. I set out ant traps because I noticed a huge ant colony making itself a home on our cement pad. Borax and honey… supposed to work wonders. We’ll have to see if it works, I wonder how long it takes? I left it out overnight and there was ants all over the lids covered in the stuff. If it works I’ll be putting ant traps everywhere in our yard. Just have to make sure the dog doesn’t get into them. But I didn’t think that they would still be covered this morning when I wanted to clean them up. How do you get them off the lids? We dropped them in water then rinsed them off… I still feel so creepy crawly! YUCK!

Leave a Reply

