Day one

Where did the weekend go?

Its already tuesday.. I guess thats what happens when your unemployed. The weekend and the week just get blurred into one and you can’t remember what the date is. We spent the weekend up at Candle Lake, it was quit fun actually. I usually don’t like being with Dan’s family, but Paul accompanied us and I felt much better as he didn’t know many people either.  We were up at Tobin for Friday night at the bar, there was a band there and we thought it would be fun. We were up super early Saturday morning for the boys to go golfing. 6:30 to be exact.. after only a couple hours sleep. Good thing I got to sleep in after we got back! Then I was designated driver for the 4 hour drive including numerous stops for the ride to Candle. Blah… it seemed to take forever!

For the Lake I ended up making my famous shrimp dip that I ALWAYS take up to the lake for my family, or to any family function for that matter.

seafooddip

 

Recipe:

8 oz block of cream cheese
1/2 cup sour cream
1/4 cup mayonnaise
2 cans broken shrimp (or 1 shrimp ring)
1 cup shrimp cocktail sauce
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1 green pepper
3 green onions, chopped
1 tomato, diced

Mix first 3 ingredients and spread on a 12 inch round platter. Spread cocktail sauce over the mixture and then layer the shrimp ontop. Follow with the veggies and last but not least cheese ontop. Serve with crackers or chips.

 

So thats it…  works best if the cream cheese has been sitting out… I didn’t measure my platter before I made it, and I had to double the batch and had a little bit left over so I made myself a little container of dip (which ended up going bad and I threw it out). Dan’s mom was here last night and told me my dip was a huge success. Good to know.. I already knew Paul liked it.. we devoured 1/4 of it ourselves before leaving the lake. Its always such a huge hit.

Picnik collage

Shawnah had everything ready for home made ice cream.. I’ll have to ask her what she all had for that because OMG it was soooo good! We did the whole traditional thing with the hand crank and everything! Thats what Cole is doing in the bottom picture. The other ones are Me, Dan and Karleigh and then Dan and I.

Leave a Reply

